Some reasons to show my teeth

While I am busy sucking summer dry, I wanted to pop in to write down (if even for “my own self” as Kae would say) some of these sound bites from my two kiddos.

I, of course, have been jotting these little quips down on paper as I hear or recall them, and they’re scattered on my computer desk just begging to be put all in one place.  My little organized at heart self can’t take the clutter anymore!

These are the reasons I smile at least once every day.  😀

*Overheard at the dinner table after munching on some corn on the cob – yum!  Noelle:  Sally (our dog), if you could just become a helper dog for once, maybe you could help me get this corn unstuck from my teeth.

*Entering the restaurant at breakfast time, and discussing what is available – Kae: Now THIS is why I DON’T like McDonald’s!  They have strawberries!

*To Cal after a discussion about where he played a baseball game – Noelle:Oh, was it that one place with those one trees that had that Spongebob ice cream on a stick?

*Putting sugar in my coffee at Starbucks – Kae: Mom, that sign says “No Smoking”.  Me: Yes it does.  Kae:  *looking worried, and pointing directly towards my steaming cup of coffee*  But MOM!!!

*3.23 seconds after unwrapping and chewing on a piece of Fruit Stripe Gum – Noelle: Um, I actually know that I just opened this, but it has pretty much no flavor.  I think they were trying to trick me when they said lemon.  Maybe it just meant that you think of lemon when you chew it.

*Walking into the kitchen after playing outside – Kae:I smell something really good that sort of smells like Mom’s cooking!  I sure hope it iiiis!

Published in: on August 6, 2008 at 9:55 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://derekandmandy.wordpress.com/2008/08/06/some-reasons-to-show-my-teeth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “Putting sugar in my coffee at Starbucks – Kae: Mom, that sign says “No Smoking”. Me: Yes it does. Kae: *looking worried, and pointing directly towards my steaming cup of coffee* But MOM!!!”

    Hilarious!

  2. Gotta love the kid quips. I have them scattered everywhere too and one of these days I will add them to my blog!

  3. I have a notebook with our little sayings, too. Sadly, I haven’t been using it as often. You’ve totally inspired me to get a few written before they are lost.

  4. […] Because these? Ice pack up the shirt ~ a sure cooler-offer […]


Leave a Reply

