My Birthday Mirror/rorriM yadhtriB yM

Today I am 32.

32 years ago, I made a young lady a “Mom”.  (And she’s done that title proud, I might add.)

For some reason, birthdays always trigger my wee brain to reflect

To reflect on my life, and where it’s taken me.  What remarkable events have taken place in these grand 32 years of mine?  What things would I like to forget?  What’s been left undone?  What parts of myself have I lost in the void?  What do I think of the reflection that looks back at me from my mirror today?

For me, it’s so easy to get sucked into the past and all of its memories.  I am a dweller.  As in, I worry about things when it’s decision time, to the point of over-analyzing them.  (And irritating everyone around me at the time.)  Then, dwelling on whatever decision WAS made, and its impending outcome.  Good OR bad.  I have NO idea why I put myself through this.  But, the cycle is repeated.  Again and again.

So, I  force myself to take pause.  I take stock of what I have in my life right now that can make me smile.  And all that can take my mind off of all the tiresome reflecting.

 

Because these?

Ice pack up the shirt ~ a sure cooler-offer

Ice pack up the shirt ~ a sure cooler-offer

 

These goofy girls right here?

 

NOW I'm glamorous.  I have my scarf.

NOW I am glamorous...I have my scarf.

 

Are the reason I get up and face that mirror every. single. day.

Thanks girls. 

For your infectious laughter – it is the most beautiful sound to my ears.

For your constant activity – it is what keeps me on my toes.

For your never-wavering love – it is what holds me up.

 

For your beautiful eyes.

blue eyes

blue eyes - Mommy's match

 

green eyes

green eyes - Daddy's clone

In which holds the reflection of the perfect love that brought you into this world.

Published in: on September 15, 2008 at 2:29 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://derekandmandy.wordpress.com/2008/09/15/my-birthday-mirrorrorrim-yadhtrib-ym/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A very happy birthday to you, Mandy, with many more to come, and I love your girls, too, they are no less than awesome!

  2. Happy Birthday Mandy! 32 that’s it? Such a youngin’ you are! : )

    Beautiful person, beautiful children. Hope your birthday was a great one!

    Kristin

  3. Ya know…we really are a lot a like in a lot of ways. We torture ourselves…and then…well you know how it works.
    I hope anyway, that you got to make a little time for yourself, and that my bday card arrived on time 🙂 Love ya Court

  4. Happy belated birthday, Mandy. We’re the same age (almost – just two months apart!). And frankly, I think 32 is going to be AWESOME.


Leave a Reply

